Spitz Prize

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best book in liberal and/or democratic theory published two years earlier. Click here to see the list of past winners.

2016 Spitz Prize Winner Announced:

The winner of the 2016 Prize is Melissa Schwartzberg, Counting the Many: The Origins and Limits of Supermajority Rule (Cambridge University Press, 2014).

The Committee was comprised of Chandran Kukathas (chair), Mary Dietz, and Jill Frank. The Prize will be awarded to Prof. Schwartzberg at CSPT’s reception at the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association. For more information about the CSPT Reception at APSA, see here.

If you have questions or require further assistance, please write to: coordinator@icspt.org